Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Review: Happily Ever After by Harriet Evans

Happily Ever After


Happily Ever After by Harriet Evans
Publisher: Gallery Books Publish date: June 5, 2012
appily Ever After by Harriet Evans is a somewhat typical growing up story. Growing up in the English countryside, Eleanor Bee wants to work in publishing. After several weeks on her friend's couch, she starts to fret that her dream is not going to happen. Chancing on an ad looking for a secretary for Bluebird Publishing, she applies. Luckily, no one else did. Over the course of several years, she progresses in her career at Bluebird, weathering a merger and first love and heartbreak. She makes new friends and gains some lovers. Coming to terms with the true extent of her mother's alcoholism and her own fledgling alcohol problem while running from a complicated "situation", she jumps on an opportunity to move to New York. Despite finding love and success in New York, she still feels like something is missing. A trip home to England in attempt to tie up loose ends leaves her feeling even more adrift. She begins to wonder whether she should leave her New York life, the fantasy she made into her reality, or stay and deal with the longings for something to fill the void in her life. Happily Ever After is in the vein of Bridget Jones' Diary and Something Borrowed If you like those types of books, you'll like this one. The major difference is that Elle is successful in her job and her love life - even as she struggles with the way her success dictates her choices. The choices Elle makes seems true to the character and her actions. I also liked the fact that the book was written as a complete book and not a prequel or part of a continuing series. ** This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.**

No comments:

Post a Comment